Falling Down saved my Life,,,,


You can call it a story, or a journey, a path i have even heard it called before. Whatever you want to call this thing called life is about as easy as pulling nails out of a 2*4 with you’re bare hands. It’s hard and difficult sometimes the things we find happening in our lives, that we just sit back and scratch our heads.

Well i like to call it a journey if you don’t mind because that’s what i feel every morning when i wake up and thank God for another day. Ya see it all started about 7 years ago when i fell face down on an icy road in the middle of the night and just gave up. Thankfully there wasn’t any cars coming at the time! I’m a recovering alcoholic with a little over 7 years of sobriety, and i know just as much now as i did then.

I by no means am writing this for any other reason to share my experiences and just maybe save a life. I know when i fell down, in the middle of a busy road, it saved my life, because that was the very first time i ever called out to God, sincerely asking for help. The year was 2004 in late January and i was on my way home from another drinking extravaganza when i got home, i realized that hours before, i got tossed out of my apartment(yup, that really sucked!).

So what does any good drunk do? I break in to my own apartment!!! Yup, thats right, i broke in to a place where i used to live, just to sleep off the booze and then head out the next morning in search of a place to lay my head down. Unfortunatly, before i past out, the cops were standing in my room ready to take me on to the county hotel for a while. However, by a graciouse ex-lanlord, he didn’t want to press charges, he just wanted me out. So the cops gave me a ride to the city line and then told me i was on my own.

Now that was the first time i had been on my own in a long time. I thought i could handle it, get to the hotel, pass out, go to work the next morning, and do it all over again, right? Well i started the walk and i got about half way there and i found myself starting to slip. “oh no!” i thought then SMACK!! Right into the ice covered road. That hurt! Especially when youre drunk! I layed their for a few moments, and in all honestly i was hoping for a truck or a car to come along and “not see” me and just take me out. I was done.

Tears welled up in  my eyes as i pondered the silience  of that cold january morning. My mind was racing and all i saw was flashes of failures and disapointments. everything i ever attempted to do i failed at and i figured the world would be better without me. In one loud cry i called out to God that if he was there that i needed help and now!!

Well thats half the story folks, as you can see im alive and well, and yes God did hear my crys, but thats all i have for tonight. I do hope that by reading my blogs and stories it gives someone, somewhere, just a little hope.

7 thoughts on “Falling Down saved my Life,,,,

  1. I am so glad that you are sharing your story, it will encourage and help set free someone in the same or similar situations… and let me tell you how u helped me, I wanna start a blog about my life and how God called me!! Never know what God is up to Scott, I am just glad he spared you… 🙂 May the Lord continue to bless you and your family, giving you favor every where you go, and giving you the desires of your heart in Jesus Name. Amen..

  2. Scott,
    I am so very proud of you, I am glad that you are able to share your testimony. God is doing such amazing things in your life, and I know that some really good things are in store. Praise the Lord in all things.

Leave a Reply

