Four days of Jesus.


Now at this point in my life, many wonderful things had happen. Almost to the point that I had to pinch myself to make sure it was real. Over a three-month period, the Lord had picked me up from the ash’s and put me on solid ground. He breathed the breath of life into me and caught the tears that I cried. He took the hurt I had and said “no more”  and He forgot my sins as far as the east is to the west and for the first time in my life I was actually learning to love and respect, not just other people, but myself. Which this was something far different from that “fat ugly kid”  when I was an empty enigma, or a dead man walking that I was.

After I accepted Christ as my savour, I learned allot about Christianity and what it meant to follow Christ. I was told to have faith and run my race and all kinds of great things. But there was still something missing. I really wasn’t sure what it was, but something was missing. A short time later my sponsor invited me to spend a weekend in a church. A Christian weekend retreat. Its called de colores which means many colors of Christ in spanish. Or if you will, a weekend for all denominations.

Well since I didn’t have a job at the time i figured what could it hurt? Im going to spend four days with Jesus and that was far better than a job anyways. So that march I packed a bag and away we went, to the unknown. Unknown because i wasn’t told too much about anything except that I was going to church for four days with very little sleep and plenty to eat. That in itself intrigued me because I was starting to get an appetite back and discovered that I actually liked food.(for years of alcohol abuse like I had, it became difficult to eat.)

We arrived at the church and i kinda felt something was a little strange because there seemed to be a lot of people their. I thought it was only a few, but it turned out to be 75 men in a church for four days! “What had I gotten myself into this time?” I thought to myself as we got out of the truck and headed in. I was rather comforted because my sponsor was a “worker” on this weekend so I knew he had my back if things got strange.    And let me tell ya for being a fish outta water and all these grown men were hugging each other and saying things I had no concept of, yes it was a little strange.

I was taken to my room were I and 20 other guys were calling home for 4 days and the beds were not far from that “massive steel” bed I slept on when I was in jail. They were cots. Thats it, just a cot. I brought a pillow and a blanket but still I was not enthused at all. “I came to spend 4 days with Jesus, and we sleep on cots?” I started to look for the door because I didn’t get sober to sleep on a cot but as I was searching for the front door, I heard the dinner bell ring and that’s all it took, because I had worked up an appetite thinking about these cots  and trying to make an escape.

One thing  I’ve learned over the past 7 years is if were going to follow Christ, then sometimes were going to sleep on a cot. If I have to sleep on a cot to help bring the lost to Christ, then so be it. There’s nothing more real than meeting Jesus. Nothing more amazing than taking his hand of love and letting Him make you a new. Nothing more powerful than crawling into His lap and giving Him my worries.

So let me ask you my friend, will you sleep on a cot for Jesus?

So there I was in a church, with 75  grown men hugging each other, check back next time and see how Jesus grabbed my heart on this weekend. Thanks for reading, Be Blessed!!!!

We have to pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away. Hebrews 2:1

3 thoughts on “Four days of Jesus.

  1. Hi Scott, thank you for that very down to earth message or should I say down to cot matress level, if properly understood the scripture below is talking about obedience not falling away we can see this better in the K.J.V which is always a more acurate translation being translated from the original Greek Scriptures…. but Scoot wonderfully your whole focus is God and how to please Him so you don’t have to worry about forgetting about His guidlines.

    We have to pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away. Hebrews 2:1

    Hebrews 2: 1 Therefore we ought to give the more earnest heed to the things which we have heard, lest at any time we should let them slip.( K.J.V )

    Look forward to sharing with you again Anne.

  2. Hi Anne!!! Thank you so much for the kind words! And your right my only focus today is how I can please the Lord because thats what life is all about, pleasing Him who created us. Thank you so much for reading my blogs and i do enjoy yours as well.

    In Love, your brother in Christ,
    Scott

Leave a Reply

