Completely Powerless


  One thing I have learned over the years is I’m powerless. Its hard for a guy to admit sometimes but yes I am powerless. I can do nothing without God guiding my every step. Period. I learned this some years ago when I was still drinking and several other times since I’ve been sober. When I try to do things on my own I always end up in big trouble. Time and time again I try to go at it alone and God lets me, and when I realize how much I’m dependent on Him, He takes over and things start working out again.

One needs to run out of options I guess to become aware of how powerless we really are. I know I did when I was drinking. I came to that complete broken state to cry out to God for help, and He answered. He has answered every time I call out to Him. So why does it take us so long to come to the realization that we need Him daily. Every hour, every minute, every second of the day, we need Him.

I know from my own experience that I get what we call “Big headed”. you know, cocky. Or arrogant, which ever word you choose to use this is how we pull away from God. And He being the all knowing, lets me go my own way, to do the things “I” want to do, knowing darn well that I cannot do it.

I believe He lets me to teach a lesson. I NEED HIM, that is the lesson He try’s to teach. And who am I to argue with God? He knows my every need, so why do I continue to act like I don’t need Him? The Apostle Paul says it best, stating “the things I want to do, I do not do, but the things I do not want to do, I do”. Even Paul, the super apostle admits his weakness and that he needs to depend on God more.

So my New Years resolution is this: To rely on Christ for all things, through and through, and be determined to serve Him with all I have.

How about you?Red rose

Leave a Reply

