Putting the Kart before the Horse.


The next year went by rather fast, and sobriety had it rewards. No doubt about it I was in a better place than I was before. My mind had cleared, spiritually i was growing closer to a God that I never knew before. I was gaining weight and color was starting to come back to this once pale body. Alcohol abuse does this kind of damage to a person and a lot of time, it can be worse. So yea I was feeling good.

The following year around June I believe a friend of mine had a house for sale. I was looking to move out of my mom’s house and try it on my own, again. I was working back at the job I had before i quit drinking and actually was making decent money. I had bought a new car and things where looking up. (Have you noticed where I failed  yet?, keep reading and you will.) So I thought, well, its time to buy a house. One usually wants to make small steps when getting out on his own again, especially after pissing everything i had away, then trying to rebuild after 3 years of sobriety. Nope, not me, it was go big or not at all. (Can you see were i messed up?)

By the end of August the deal was done, and I had bought a house. (Dumb!). Yea buddy, this one time broke down, drunk and homeless degenerate, bought a house. It was a lovely place with 3 bedrooms, living room, kitchen, garage, sun room. Yup, everything(Except God).  Before you know it the bills started to pile in and fear had crept in because I wasn’t making the kind off money I thought. That was my problem, my budget was all in my mind!! Nope, no writing it down, no graph paper, not even the slightest hint of a written budget! And to top things off I had forgotten about God!

I was still praying don’t get me wrong, but i wasn’t being sincere about it. I was, well, just like the title states, putting the” kart before the horse”, or doing things first, without really seeking God first. In my heart of hearts, I knew i had no business buying a house, especially without consulting in God. “Man I was in a mess” I thought laying in bed one night.

After months of trying to swing it, and getting no were, I finally called out to God, just like I did that first time a few years prior.  (Guess what? He was still there, it was I that moved.) After that, I slept like a baby. Over several months the house went into foreclosure, that job i had, well, I got a promotion, then a few months after the promotion, I got fired, and the girl I was dating at the time was no were to be found. Through all this by the grace of God, I made it through this sober, but it hurt!

So, what happened? Nothings different here, you’ll have to check back next time and see were God takes me next and here about how God turns a complete mess, like I had created, and turned it into something amazing! Thanks for reading!! Be Blessed!!!

My son, do not forget my teaching, but keep my commands in your heart, for they will prolong your life many years and bring you peace and prosperity. Proverbs 3:1-2, NIV- Quest Bible.

One thought on “Putting the Kart before the Horse.

Leave a Reply

