All things Positive?


Serendipity, or if you will “Happy Accidents” or “Pleasant Surprises”. This age old expression has turned the world upside down twice over by its alluring charm and pleasant sound. Its led to movies, books, restaurants, book clubs, and it has also led people astray. So If you will, I’m going to crack some myths about this thrilling little word. For no other reason other than there is no such thing as a happy accident.

Let me explain: Years ago when I fell into an abundant amount of mess, do in part to excess drinking and nightly affairs with the “girl who understood”, and then by chance, or a stroke of luck, or serendipity, two years later I was sitting in an AA meeting with a few months of sobriety under my belt without rhyme or reason why I’m there. I could have also sad it was serendipity that caused me to accept Christ as my personal savior and all the stars in the Universe aligned just right so I could get my license back, and by chance, 7 years later and I’m going to college and have a great job. Yup, all by chance, serendipity or “Happy Accident”

I have a friend who is all about positive thinking. His way of thinking is if you think positive, positive things happens. Oh yes, and we can’t forget about the optimistic, over zealous people that believe in the  New Age Movement, or basically, self-help. Yup, sad to say there are those who believe in helping their self. Hey, I did to for many years and guess were it got me? Absolutely nowhere. Motivational speakers travel the world and wright books preaching self-improvement all the while their taking our money. Heck, I would be happy to if I had the heart to teach false doctrine, but I don’t so that’s why I do what I do. With all the emphasis on “Money in the Bank” you’re a success  and what kind of car is parked in the drive way means your someone, all the while forgetting about the One true Person who has enough love and abundance to make Bill Gates scratch his head.

The one thing I have learned is that no matter how good you try to look on the outside, if you don’t have Christ on the inside, its all meaning less.  With society taking the backseat to morals and responsibility these days, and looking for the easier softer way, theirs a slim chance for survival. Only when we turn back to God, the creator of All things will we be able to experience total change, until then, were just living aimlessly with no meaning. Today I know life has a purpose and a meaning and His name is Jesus, no ifs, ands, or buts. He’s the author of life, the prince of peace and not to mention the one who died for our sins. Jesus said that self-help is basically no help at all and boy if more people started realizing this, how awesome this pathetic place would be. But until then I’ll keep praying, because we need it.

Thanks for reading!! Be Blessed!!

Ephesians 5:1-2“Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”

Brought to you by BibleGateway.com. Copyright (C) . All Rights Reserved.

132

Leave a Reply

