The Tongue.


The Tongue of the wise adorns knowledge, but the mouth of the fool gushes folly.-Proverbs 15:2 NIV Quest Bible.

When I was a young man my mother always told me that if i didnt have anything nice to say, don’t say it at all. I wish I would have listened. One thing i have learned since coming to Christ is the tongue has the power of life and death. When I was destroying my life with bad booze and disobedience to man and God, I was destroying people with my tongue as well. Just a little note, sarcasim is NOT in the bible, nor is it language of the heart.

My language was bad enough that sometimes I think the devil himself even blushed. I used it for destruction of other people just for the simple fact, I didn’t like the person I was. I used it as a scape goat to make myself look better, without emotion or caring about other people. That old saying “sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”, is a total myth. Because words do hurt, and can cause more destruction than an armed robber.

When I was in school I was on the recieving end of a lot of verbal abuse. “stupid” “looser” “idiot” just to name a few, but there was worse names thrown my way also. So, I in turn, fired right back at them with everything I had, not caring about any damage I was doing. Words were just weapons to me, and whoever got caught in the cross-fire, well, to bad. I lived this way for a long time and in the end, it only brought misery and hurt.

Today, in Christ, I have learned that your words do matter and they do hurt. They hurt to the very core of one’s soul and the tongue is a deadly evil. The tongue is the only thing on the planet that cannot be tamed. Only God can do that. Only He can correct our language and clean our tongue to encourage one another. Like scripture says “you can’t curse men, and praise God at the same time.” Today I am very much aware of what comes out of my mouth, because I would rather see a smile on someones face, rather than sarrow.

The Tongue’s destructive power Sermon Jam Andy Najera – YouTube

5 thoughts on “The Tongue.

  1. So very, very true what you shared Scott and I have broken bones ( heart ) to prove words can inflict much hurt. So this means I need to be carful that I’m not being too sensitive and suspecting that people are having a go at me or mistakenly take what someone says as an attack. Satan would love this because I would have no Peace and suspect everyone even when they were just joking or seeing the funny side of things, I may think it was sarcasm. This is why I need God’s discernment and also to be carful that others don’t poison me towards people with their own agenda, another tragedy of Satan.

    Ron was touched by the encouragement he received from everybody, he is still testing the waters, but feels more at peace about sharing now on a Blog and it’s so good having his support with his posts. Thank you for uplifting him.

    Take Care my friend, Christian Love Anne.

  2. Pingback: The tongue, who can tame? | The Watchman – Illuminating lives through the light of His Word

Leave a Reply

