The start of “Grown Up Life” at 35.


Galatians 5:16“So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.”

Brought to you by BibleGateway.com. Copyright (C) . All Rights Reserved.

Last year was a trying time for me. Working two jobs, both of them were 30 minutes from home, and I absolutely hated it! But I had to, and I did for well over two years. One day last summer while everyone was enjoying the Night Skies that the summer had to offer, I was working. I was fed up and tired and felt drained. I didn’t want to be apart of the rat race anymore, I wanted out. Not sure what I was going to do, I finally quit one job and actually enjoyed the rest of the summer, only working one job.

Working only one job was fine for about a month or so. I got caught up on a lot of things I needed to and got back into my early morning devotions with God that I had missed oh so much. Even though I was working two jobs I still managed to go to church and some meetings, but quite time with the Lord was almost non-existent, which is required to walk the Christian Life in my opinion. So, I was down to one job, but something was still missing. I really didn’t care to much for the job I had and the Lord knew it.

One morning as I got back into my routine I asked the Lord what He wanted me to do. The answer floored me. “Its time to go to college Scott”. Now at this point I had all but written college off, for one I was to old and for two, I didn’t fair well in high school, basically graduating at the lowest possible spot in my class, but I did some how manage to graduate. When the Lord had spoken this to me I had started to wonder who was crazier, Him or me. College? Ok, so I went down and enrolled and did all the paper work and even got student loans. I did what the Lord wanted me to do and I started school.

To my surprise it was actually really awesome the first semester (G.P.A 3.33!) sorry had to brag. I wasn’t to old for their were other people in my classes older than I was, and come to find out, I am kind off smart!The cool thing is that the Lord blessed me with a better job at another college, so when I’m done this semester, I can go to school were I work at for free! All this because I was obedient to the Lord and did what He wanted me to do this time and not what Scott wanted to do.

God reminded me that it s never to late when He is in charge. When He is in charge, the most amazing things happen that you could never dream of. I put my Big Boy clothes on and went to college an now I’m doing things grown ups do. Something that would never have happened if I was still drinking and chasing woman. The moral of the story: WE SERVE A BIG GOD AND ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE THROUGH HIM..

Well that’s all for now I have to get to class, just remember were you were at before you came to the Lord, and He will do incredible things when were obedient. Thanks for reading!! Be Blessed!!!!  

One thought on “The start of “Grown Up Life” at 35.

  1. Scott,
    Big God = Little Problems
    Little God = Big Problems!!!

    It was so great to read your story. I too was working a dead end job with no spiritual life, and I decided to quit because I felt led to go back to school. I am now fulfilling my dream for what God has naturally blessed me with, and I am enjoying every minute. He has opened doors for me that I never believed were possible.

    Without Him, nothing would be right!

    Blessings and keep on keeping on!

Leave a Reply

