Obedient.


Sometime, a long time ago, I lost my way. I can’t remember really when it happened all I can say is I became disobedient to any authority in my life. I believe it was probably when my father passed away well over 20 years ago. After he passed, I really didn’t have much to live for. I was angry, hurt, sad, practically every human emotion all rolled up into one, then add booze. Not the best combination nor the best life, but I realize today there are proper and improper ways to deal with the pain and hurt of losing someone.

When i sobered up and came to the Lord, He took over, and He helped me through a lot of pain. But one thing I still struggle with is obedience to His word. Now I’m not say that it happens all the time, but most of the time I miss the boat completely. My first summer sober i was working landscaping and on route to a job site one morning I came across a church sign that I still hold in my heart to this day, it read: “When God speaks, you better listen”. Now seeing words like this in the very early morning will wake any man, no coffee needed!

Those six words I hang on to on a daily basis, because you never know when God is speaking to you. And we He does, we need to listen as I have found out because there’s usually a lesson of sorts to be learned. It may be to hold the door open for someone at the grocery store, or a kind word to the neighbor, or simply spending time with family. One thing I have learned is God cares about the small stuff in our life just as much as the big stuff. To often we keep God in a box, only to use Him when times are tough.  I know this can be the case with me sometimes, then i remember what a friend of mine told me a long time ago, “We serve a Big God”.

So today, between work and school I have to remember that there is no problem to big or to small for Him. And I have to be obedient to what He says no matter what. But, to go along with obedience, we have to ask Him for the strength to be willing to do what He wants us to do, just for the fact that a lot of things He asks us to do seems a little crazy. Human strength alone cannot handle what God wants us to do, we need God strength to carry out any job He asks of us.

So today I throw in the towel, I surrender all to Him, and may He be glorified in all I do. How about You?

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight.-Proverbs 3:5-6

One thought on “Obedient.

Leave a Reply

