Live and let Live.


Cover of "Forgive and Forget"

Cover of Forgive and Forget

“One great piece of mischief has been done by the modern restriction of the word Temperance to the question of drink. It helps people to forget that you can be just as intemperate about lots of other things.” C.S. Lewis.

C.S. Lewis even understood the importance of alcoholism, saying basically we forget about anything else other than alcohol. I know I did when I was running the streets and parting like a rock star on a McDonald’s budget. I didn’t have one notion of what was good or what was wrong. When i came into AA this phrase really hit me, live and let live. I really didn’t understand what it meant, so me being the inquisitive person I was, I asked my sponsor and what he told me still holds true today.

He said in effect “It gives us permission to be respectable humans and not hold grudges, and let go of resentments and bitterness.” This was good news because I had many resentments at the time and I was bitter. I was bitter because I still couldn’t understand how my life had turned into such a mess. I had a lot of resentments toward a lot of people, my father being one of them, for leaving this world when I was a boy. My resentments defined me and I had no intention of letting them go. But I knew, deep down, I had to if I was to stay sober.

Live and let Live has taught me to forgive and forget and to move on with life. Alcoholics pride themselves on remembering everyone in our past who has wronged us, only to realize, we are the only ones that still remember the wrong done in very precise detail, all the while the one who harmed us has long forgotten the silly incident. That’s insanity if you ask me! Alcoholics have a very special way of hurting themselves with only the memory of a wrong. We think about it night and day, grind our teeth when that person id mentioned and go to unspeakable heights to bring agony to this person that could careless that they hurt us.

Today, I don’t let the little things bother me, nor the big things, I have learned to live and let live. I no longer run circles chasing my tail or chasing anyone else’s tail. Christ has taught me that forgiveness starts with myself. I have to forgive myself as well as other people seeing how that was the biggest message He sent went He died on the cross for our sins. He forgave me so I have to forgive others as well. Because resentment cuts me off from God and I don’t want that to happen anymore seeing how I was cut off for so long.

Today, Live and let Live provides me with the ability to move on with my life and not to replay the tapes in my head(Alcoholics everywhere should know what that means.),  to let go of resentments and hurts and let the Grace of God begin. I strive everyday to become a better person through scripture and other books I read, but nothing gives me more enjoyment than giving up those old resentments. When I did my 5th step of the program of Alcoholics Anonymous I was elated because I let God have all my baggage and misfortunes, and He has turned them into priceless jewels that I can share with others.

I hope you have gained some understanding about the harm of resentments and letting go. It’s not easy I understand this, that’s why we ask a loving God to give us the strength to be able to do this, because we are weak humans and we need His help and guidance more than anything.

Do you need to “Live and Let Live” today? Do you have resentments from years ago that is impacting your life more than the offenders? Christ said “take my yoke, and cast all your cares unto Him”, will you cast your cares unto Him today?

Thanks for reading!!!!! Be Blessed!!!!

One thought on “Live and let Live.

Leave a Reply

