Detestable Prayers.


proverbsIf anyone turns a deaf ear to my instruction, even their prayers are detestable. –Proverbs 28:9

This little proverb hit me between the eyes the other morning and if you understand this proverb you can see why. Throughout the day I usually do a lot of stupid stuff and not even realizing that what I’m doing can make my prayers detestable to God! Never once crossed my mind that what I do hurts God. A fellow blogger commented about this the other day and when you think about it, hurting God, is something most people don’t even realize.

Think about it, how many times do we do things throughout the day, that hurt God? I know I do more than I even know! When i read this proverb the other day I started to weep because I hurt God. Always thinking about myself, what I can get from the moment and not even stopping for a moment to think “could this be hurting God?” Yup, true story, if we turn a deaf ear to what God wants us to do, our prayers are detestable and when God says something is detestable, it hits home.

I think about it over and over and I can’t stop thinking about all the times I have hurt God, my creator, my Abba. This is something I did for way to long when I was sleeping with a different woman every night and drinking until the sun came up. Time and time again I hurt God, hurt Him to the core of His almighty heart and it tear me up inside. After all He has done for me, Him dying on the cross to save this dead man walking and I still have the nerve to hurt God. This is why Christ did what He did to reconcile us to our heavenly father, so I am a forgiven child, but I still hurt.

I don’t want to hurt God anymore. I don’t want to be a disappointment any more nor a failure. I want to be the man of God that he has called me to be, but I fail, and the one thing I have learned is failing is O.K. Just for the fact He knows I’m human and I’m going to mess up, and the rules and regulations that some religions set down are not part of God’s law at all. Just because I sin does not mean I am going to hell, and that’s great news.

I just want to love Jesus more. I want to grow closer to Him everyday and humbly come to Him when it’s all said and done to hear those words every Christian wants to hear “Well done faithful servant,” and rest in His arms. Today is better than it has ever been and its a direct result of Christ. Today, I don’t want to have detestable prayers, how about you?

Thanks for reading!!!! Be Blessed!!!!

2 thoughts on “Detestable Prayers.

  1. Thank you for Scott for sharing so honestly, Ron is away till next week, he said he was so blessed to see you like other young men who blog, have their focus in the right place. We are indeed very blessed to be Spiritual Jews of the Promise saved by grace not by fleshy works and in Christ Jesus we are indeed saved form our past sins and also set free from the bondage and slavery of sin, how wonderful that when we are Born again of God’s seed we no longer sin, we can’t sin our flesh has been put to death and we have the mind of Christ so don’t choose to sin. All the hurt is forgiven and the slate is wiped clean, we will not be judged for it … How good is that!

    John 8:34-36 Jesus replied, “I tell you the truth, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

    1 John 3: 1-11 ( 9 ) No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of GodHi Lee Ron is away at the moment ‘so I’m catching up with your messages on Rahab and will share with you today, Ron said he appreciates your focus, he is a man of few words but often packs a punch at times with his encouragement, which I’m sure you will agree is good when based on God’s Truth.

    Thanks Scott – Christian Love Anne.

  2. Great post and boy can I relate to everything you said. I too am tired of hurting my Savior, grieving the Holy Spirit and disappointing those who love me. I would put alot of pressure on myself by asking all the time if what I’m doing or what I’m thinking brings glory to God. It got to the point where I was just exhausted with the questioning thoughts and I got burned out. Those feelings are not from the Lord. God doesn’t produce confusion or frustration. I was doing that to myself. I LOVE the Scripture Psalm 46:10, “Be still, and know that I am God.” I want what you want. I’m right there with ya. Thanks for a great post and many blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

