The Resolution.


This logo was released with the official annou...

Image via Wikipedia

   As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. Joshua 24:15

    ” I have resolved to give all I have to God” is a quote from the movie Courageous, but it’s not just for the movies, this is what I have declared for my life. My life meant nothing before Christ, now I know He has a plan for me. At my church last month a group of 25 fine men including myself went through the Courageous Bible study to learn what it really means to be courageous and what we found was integrity, honesty, hard work, mercy, and grace all of which we were lacking in one way or another. This morning at church we stood up in front of the congregation to declare our RESOLUTION to God and our families, and here it is, the same one in the movie:

THE RESOLUTION

I DO solemnly resolve before God to take full responsibility for myself, my wife, and my children.

I WILL love them, protect them, serve them, and teach them the Word of God as the spiritual leader of my home.

I WILL be faithful to my wife, to love and honor her, and be willing to lay my life for her as Jesus Christ did for me.

I WILL bless my children and teach them to love God with all their hearts, all their minds, and all their strength.

I WILL train them to honor authority and live responsibly.

I WILL confront evil, pursue justice, and love mercy.

I WILL pray for others and treat them with kindness, respect, and compassion.

I WILL work diligently to provide for the needs of my family.

I WILL forgive those who have wronged me and reconcile with those I have wronged.

I WILL learn from my mistakes, repent of my sins, and walk with integrity as a man answerable to God.

I WILL seek to honor God, be faithful to His church, obey His Word, and do His will.

I WILL courageously work with the strength God provides to fulfill this resolution for the rest of my life and for His glory.

         Even though I’m single, I went through this 4 week study so when God allows me to get married I will know how to love my wife unconditionally, unwavering, and uncompromising passionate love. I will know how to raise my children and be the spiritual leader in my house. Now, for you, WERE ARE YOU MEN OF GOD? Will you join me in THE RESOLUTION?

Thanks for reading!!!! Be Blessed!!!!!

9 thoughts on “The Resolution.

  1. Pingback: Planning to retire? Is It In Accordance to God’s Plan For Your Life? « bummyla

  2. Yes Craig as you say honesty ,hardwork are the bylines for any man ,more so as a christian ,glad you included ,grace.Thats the clincher ,been given to me so many times by my loved ones, paul says put it into effect in your life with your dealings with your wife ,family and loved ones.
    cheers
    Ron

  3. HI Ron!!!!

    Those were the things I was taught as a child, honesty, hardwork, integrity, but sadly many a people have no idea what these things are today. Thanks for reading!!
    In Christ
    Scott.

  4. Hi Scott thank you for sharing teaching from your Bible Study, what wonderful preperation for when you do Marry but of course even now it is very vaulable.

    Grace from God as Ron said is indeed a wonderful life giving blessing and yes something we don’t deserve and it cannot not be obtained by trying to keep the law in the flesh, only by the empowering of the Holy Spirit as you shared many times but also as you have shared it does not mean we continue to sin. 1 John 3:9

    Romans 6: 1 – 7 What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein? Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into His death? Therefore we are buried with Him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life. For if we have been planted together in the likeness of His death, we shall be also in the likeness of His resurrection: Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with Him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin. For he that is dead is freed from sin.

    Romans 3:30-31 Seeing it is one God, which shall justify the circumcision by faith, and uncircumcision through faith. Do we then make void the law through faith? God forbid: yea, we establish the law.

    Christian Love Anne.

  5. Hi Scott just testing Ron’s address again as evidence.

    As far as the awards are concerned they are a blessing you can just accept them like you did with King of Kings Friendship Award, no rules if you want to use them to bless others now or in 2 years time that is your choice, you don’t even have to attach the symbol to your blog unless you want to … no pressure, I do believe in rules or guidelines but not if it means we worry or feel burdened by them, if we do there not of God. I respect those who create Awards and if I accept them I don’t change their rules but I do not let them pressure me.

    Christian Love Anne.

  6. Pingback: The Resolution From The Movie Courageous | Growing Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

