Hooking Up, Shacking Up, Divorce….


Divorce Your Speed

Divorce Your Speed (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

When I was 21 I fell madly in love with a young woman who made me feel complete. She had the bluest eyes and sweetest smile and had a way of loving me that I never knew before. After a month or so, we decided she should move in and it was all down hill after that. To make a long story short she left me for another man, but the good news is were both Christians and very good friends. The hurt I felt through that whole ordeal was more than I could bear, and it sent me into a month of drinking, drugging, sex, and violent behavior. It was only when I gave my heart to Christ, that the healing began.

 

This story sounds a lot like whats going on in our society today. people hooking up, shacking up, and in the end getting a divorce because they move to fast. Relationships and marriages mean little today because no one wants to fight for their love. No one wants to take responsibility for their actions and realize they cannot play the silly little games they once did. Marriage to me is serious business, and when the God blesses me with the one He wants me to be with, I will love and obey her. I will be the man she always wanted and whisper “sweet nothings” in her ear while eating ice cream. I will make a wish up to heaven and make her want to cry and I will pray with her everyday and every night.

 

These things can only happen through Christ, period. Without Christ there nothing but empty, hollow and meaningless enigmas looking for a way out. Society today says love is a feeling or some cosmic force that only happens to certain people. Love is a choice, not a feeling. Love is a call to action to love God, our wife’s and children and our fellow-man. Like Paul said,” When I became a man, I put childish things away,” and this means putting away the old self, the old pathetic womanizer and love like crazy with you wife, not the neighbors girlfriend or husband.

 

This pathetic society we live in has no courage anymore. When trouble hits the home front its get a divorce and try again with someone else. Try again with someone else, only to be left in the dust for another and another till the time comes when your empty and have nothing left. Domestic violence, same-sex marriage (yes I said it, get over it) adultery, unfaithfulness are running ramped today for one reason. No Christ. (Before I get attacked by the political correct police let me clear one thing up before I continue. I do not in any way accept or praise homosexuality or same-sex marriage, notice, I referenced the behavior not the person. I hate no one, I hate the sin, there’s a difference.)

 

No Christ, no love. Know Christ, then you’ll know love. You will find the greatest love know to mankind. A love that makes the water still and the winds calm, this is true love. When we put our lives and relationships in Christ, they will withstand any tide Satan sends. But we also have to be willing to work for that love as well. We have to be willing to sacrifice the ways of this world and   love Christ, and He will provide us with a marriage beyond our wildest dreams.

 

Thanks for reading!!!!! Be Blessed!!!!!

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Hooking Up, Shacking Up, Divorce….

  1. Divorce ruins families. It is the leading cause of poverty in children. There’s a reason Jesus said “What God has joined let no man separate” There is a reason why all of the oldest Christian churches forbade divorce. It is only acceptable in cases of infidelity, desertion and abuse. Our society doesn’t realize that. We want what we want and we want it now.

    My church is constantly told we undervalue marriage but we hold it up higher than most Christian groups do because we view it as a sacred, deeply sacred thing not to be toyed with and tossed around, not to be ignored. Thanks for writing this.

  2. True story: my oldest son is 23. One of his friends got engaged two years ago. She constantly was asking my opinion about her impending marriage. I knew that this young woman was a Christian and so was her fiance. Three months before the big day, I had a long talk with her. I told her if she wasn’t ready, she should postpone the wedding. Her reply made me physically nauseous. “Well, if it doesn’t work out, I can always divorce him.” It was as if she spoke her future into being. They were separated before the second night of the honeymoon. TRUE STORY! And although she thought that the divorce was a huge bother and cramped her style, it really didn’t affect her. I’ve tried to talk to her about this. I’m afraid all these feelings are going to rage inside her one day. There is a reason that marriage takes God, the husband, and the wife. I’m worried for our society. Sandy

  3. Thanks Scott what you highlight is the norm for the society we live in ,when standards and morals are all of a sudden dispensed with. thanks for the hionesty of your sharing
    blessing
    Ron

    • Hi Ron!!!!
      Yes it is, sadly no one believes in marriage these days, and we wonder what wrong with society today. My grandparents were married 50+ years before they passed, thats they way it should be.
      In Christ
      Scott

  4. Pingback: Hooking up, Shacking up, Divorce, Part 2. | One Mans Opinion

Leave a Reply

