Are you ready to go back to the Titanic?


roses

roses (Photo credit: Robert Couse-Baker)

1997 was a great year, the Green Bay Packers won the Super Bowl after losing the year before, the country was actually thriving and it was also the year of the one of the biggest movies to hit the big screen in Titanic. I’m not going to lie, I seen it a couple of times, maybe more because it tells the love story I always dreamed of. When Jack was holding Rose on the bow of the unsinkable ship professing his everlasting love to her, it brought me to tears and feelings I have only experienced once since then.

Jack Dawson though I do not condone the affair he had with Rose, was a courageous man and fought for what he believed in; love. he loved Rose from the moment he laid eyes on her and in the end he dies a death of freezing waters. This brings me to a thought, if every man fought this hard for the woman he loves, there would be less divorces for this one fact, love always wins. But its not the love that’s in us, its the love of Christ that’s in us that wins. You see, there is a difference in our love and Christs love and His love is everlasting.

Our love goes only skin deep, but Christs love sees beyond the outward appearance and sees right to the heart. So if Christ love is by far the best love known to humanity, why do we raise a movie like the Titanic to unprecedented heights? Because we want a happy ending just like in the movies, and following Christ doesn’t always bring happy ends, until we pass of course when that is the happiest ending ever.   We as humans want to be loved like Jack loves Rose, but are incapable until we know Christ.

When I was in the streets, drinking, drugging and hoeing around like a dog in heat, I wanted love. I wanted love so bad I went to some pretty bad places to get it only to find out it was sexual temptation and lust that I was chasing. Through all the booze and woman, never did I find love, and never did I fill that uncontrollable urge of loneliness and doubt.  I was chasing the wind only to come up empty-handed and broken-hearted time and time again.

When I came to Christ and accepted the love He had, I inevitably found what I was looking for all along. he showed me the greatest love known to humanity and still does everyday by waking me up. His love is majestic and righteous which no person could ever give me. This is the greatest love story ever told; For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life-John 3:16  

To me this is the greatest of greats, the King of Kings, and the love of all loves, Jesus Christ.  Remember, amateurs built the Ark and professionals built the Titanic.

Thanks for reading!!!! Be Blessed!!!!!!!!

 

3 thoughts on “Are you ready to go back to the Titanic?

  1. “Remember, amateurs built the Ark and professionals built the Titanic.” Wow, wow! What an awesome statement! It shows how man on his own falls short and how man can do the impossible with God.

  2. Hi Scott yes that movie did evoke all sorts of feelings wanting them to survive etc, but as you say what more motive for us is to survive eternal life .We can only do that if we have that assurance of salvation in Jesus Christ, only then will we survive.

    blessings
    Ron

Leave a Reply

