Obedient Mind.


Cover of "CHANGE THE WAY YOU THINK"

Cover of CHANGE THE WAY YOU THINK

                 Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.  Colossians 3:1-3

The other morning as I was reading I came across this verse and its been pounding in my head ever since. I love it when the Holy Spirit moves scripture across my heart because there’s usually something God wants me to do. By reading this scripture several times, I have come to the conclusion that I need to set my mind more on Godly things rather than worldly things. I know this is something we all struggle with, but its imperative to growth.

When we come to Christ, we are to put all things that we used to do down, and start living a holy and blameless life. So, how do we change our thinking, or let God change our thinking? I know in my own life I had to stop hanging out with unsavory people and ask God to bring quality, Godly people into my life. I used to hang out with some rough, negative, and unpleasant people and when I came to the Lord, I knew that had to change. Especially when I first sobered up, my mind was fried and I had no idea what was going on, all I knew was I need to stay sober. Hanging out with people that still drank every night, and did the detestable things that I did, wouldn’t help me at all.

I started hanging out with quality people, sober people that were on fire for the Lord, and my way of thinking began to change. I’m a firm believer that God puts the right people in our lives, but we have to decide whether or not we will form a relationship with them. I new I had to because I didn’t want to go back to the life I lived, the bottom of hell, or Satan‘s hatchet man were not things I wanted anymore. So I set out on a journey and what I have found is some of the most phenomenal people I have ever met.

I also had to get into the word. Easier said than done, but when you don’t understand what the Bible is or about, you get lost. So I had to ask questions, many questions to understand scripture, but most importantly I had to ask God to open my mind to understand His word. Every time I get into scripture I pray for guidance and understanding of what God wants me to do. He does just this and more when were sincere about it.

The bible isn’t just some outdated book that has no meaning or reference to today’s culture, it’s exactly what this culture needs. With babies having babies, kids joining gangs to feel like they belong, homosexuality and same-sex marriage considered to be a normal lifestyle,(which it isn’t), but with all these things, the bible don’t apply anymore? Sad. I heard a guy the other day say “He was going to live the way he wanted to live,” and this philosophy is no different from what the “Hollywood Culture” says today, live your life for yourself. Let me know how that works out for you.

If you want to change the way think, if your mind is bombarded by earthly things, turn it to Christ and see what happens. He will “change the way YOU think” because its not about us, it’s about Him and what He did for us. Has anyone else ever died on a cross for you?

Thanks for reading!!! Be Blessed!

 

One thought on “Obedient Mind.

  1. Excellent word for today, thank you for these thoughts. Getting into God’s word, and working at living for Him, is the only way we can continue on the narrow way to eternal life in His glory.

Leave a Reply

