Rejection of a different kind.


Rejection

Rejection (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

                     Therefore, anyone who rejects this instruction does not reject a human being but God, the very God who gives you His Holy Spirit. 1Thessalonians 4:8

Rejection comes in many forms; getting turned down for college, a loan, credit cards, people, and many more ways, but has rejecting God ever been a thought? I know when I was younger I dealt with rejection a lot, from people mostly, actually it was the fear of being rejected, so I never tried anything because I was going to get rejected anyways so why bother? I still to this day, have a struggle with rejection at times, but then I remember who I serve and He got rejected also, so I stand firmly on the belief that I have to try.

But what about rejecting God? I came across this scripture this morning during my studies and it really brought to my attention that we reject God on so many levels. Every time we sin, we reject God. Every time we don’t do what God is telling us to do, we reject God. Just the other day He was nudging me to do something and I didn’t, that’s rejection. I don’t even think about it half the time of the many ways we reject God. I mean think about it, when were not being kind, or being envious or lustful, all forms of rejection.

I know growing up I was rejected a lot, by many people because I wasn’t the cool kid in the class room, because there was a time when I didn’t drink and drug and did good in school, but still got rejected. So I figured if I stopped doing good in school and joined the “cool” kids I would be accepted and that’s exactly what I did, except as you all know I took it further than anticipated.

As a Christian I have learned that rejection comes with the territory because Christ was rejected, mocked, tortured and died on the cross for my sins, so me getting rejected today has a different meaning. I get rejected for my beliefs and morals and to me that’s exciting because I know I’m doing my job. But when I reject God, I feel like a little child that has just stolen the cookie from the cookie jar and got busted. The more I grow in Christ, the more I learn how vulnerable I am to sin and temptation and how important it is to stay in prayer and in the word.

Rejection by humans can be hurtful and heartbreaking. It can make you feel the lowest in life and depressed but there is good news! Jesus accepts everyone just the way we are. He takes us and molds us into something beautiful, much more beautiful than the world could offer, so I ask this question this morning; Who are you being rejected for?

2 thoughts on “Rejection of a different kind.

  1. Hi Scott, I have experienced much rejection in my life but I also know the great Love of my Lord and Saviour and the Compassion and Mercy of my Heavenly Father and the constant encouragement and empowering of the Holy Spirit, all overflowing me with acceptance and Love, can anything else in life compare to the Godhead’s outpouring of unconditional Love and blessings for those who are Redeemed now or will be in the future… My greatest desire is to please God not hurt Him again.

    Christian Love Anne.

Leave a Reply

