Continue, continue, continue………….


A photo of a stalemate in chess, based off the...

A photo of a stalemate in chess, based off the image in said article on Wikipedia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Scripture tells us that when we confess our sins we are free indeed, but that’s not a one time thing. A lot of people believe that when we accept Christ, confess our sins and everything’s fine and dandy right? Don’t get me wrong when we accept Christ into our hearts we are a new people, no question, but we have to continue. What do I mean by continue, well its the steps we take as a Christian to grow more Christ-like in everything we do and say. We have to have continue, or be subject to a stalemate.

Stalemate im sure you’ve heard before but let me give a different definition; Staying the same and doing nothing to grow as a Christian or a human. Sounds pretty harsh but isn’t it true? Think about it, every time we choose to go our own way and do things our way, it’s not only direct disobedience to God, but we also start slipping little by little back into that old life and old way of thinking. When we let the pleasures of the flesh  win out, we become stalemate.

I’ve had this happen several times since I have been a Christian and as I look back I’m saddened that I missed opportunities to serve our Lord in some capacity. When I think I know better and when I think I can handle it (which I can’t) I fall back into that old way of thinking and soon I can be doing things I don’t want to do. That’s why today I have to stay vigilant in my studies of the word and service because I don’t want to go back to that life again.

Ya see, that life I used to live is how the world lives today. It’s not how God wants us to live so today I choose to live for God because His ways are way better than anything I could come up with. Unfortunately there are a lot of Christian that still live in the world. Oh yea, they come to church and sing some songs and say a few Amen‘s,  but that’s the extent of the relationship with the Lord. For some Christians it’s all about popularity and being seen and not worshiping Christ and what He’s done for us.

Let me fill you in on a little secret; If you’re coming to church and proclaiming to be a Christian for social status and praise from men, your missing the boat! Church is who we are, not were we go. Church is everyday, 24/7/365 days of the year, the relationships that we form at church are just a bonus. The relationships we have with other Christians are God-ordained and meant for encouragement and prayers, not a popularity contest or a queen contest, stop being fake.

Thats another way we become stalemate is when were worried about what others think of us. I struggled with this for years when I realized that God loved me right were I was, so what difference did it matter what other thought? None. All I want to do is grow closer to my heavenly father today, and I cannot do that if I’m concerned about “what others think.”

Continue, continue, continue is how I want to live today. Continue in the faith, continue growing and becoming more Christ-like and becoming more of the man God wants me to be. How about you???

Thanks for reading!!!!!

Be Blessed!!!!!!!

 

3 thoughts on “Continue, continue, continue………….

Leave a Reply

