Root Canals and Unemployement.


Root Canal Illustration Molar

Root Canal Illustration Molar (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello blogging friends! Sorry I haven’t posted in a while, I have had some stressful times, and I’m praying that there over for a bit. The other day as I was enjoying some leftover brats from a Memorial Day cookout I had a tooth start to throb. As the evening went on, so did the throbbing tooth and the headache that went along with it. The next morning I get to work and a swished some salt water in my mouth, because that usually helps with a tooth ache and it did, but I still made an appointment to see the dentist.

The next morning I get to the dentist and I was just expecting to get the tooth pulled, but after the dentist told me I would eventually run out of teeth if I keep getting them pulled, I agreed to the root canal. I wait patiently and the assistant comes to get me and we head for the “Chair.” If you have ever had a root canal, you will no what I mean. Within an hour or so we were done and I was headed to work. Now, the day before at work they laid off about 11 employees, most of them long-standing employees with multiple years in. I kinda, deep down had a feeling I would be let go, just for the fact that I had only been there for a few months, but I was hoping not.

After I had the root canal I head into work and I had a certain peace about everything, ya know, that peace beyond all understanding that only comes from Christ.  When I arrive at work, I sit down to have lunch with the others then after lunch my boss comes to me and says, “we need to go over to human resources.” My jaw dropped and my head fell sluggishly for I knew what was in store. We get the HR office and sure enough, I was the next one on the chopping block. A feeling I knew oh so well crept back in, that feeling of uselessness and emptiness started to surpass that peace I had. For a slight moment, walking back to the kitchen to get my things, that feeling of utter failure I knew for so long crept in. I didn’t enjoy this feeling nor was I going to stick around to see the outcome. I collected my things and told everyone good-by, and like a flash of lighting I was gone.

I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason, and Gods plan is way better than anything I could come up with. Driving home that day I was replaying the past 8 months in my head. Did I do something wrong? Did I not work hard enough? Several other questions like this were racing through my mind as I tried driving with tears running down my face. Tears of frustration because I really enjoyed this job and the people I work with and through the tears I heard a voice I was very familiar with, “Let me love you Scott.”

When the tears dried, I couldn’t help but to laugh because not many people can say they got a root canal and lost their job in the same day! Two of the more agonizing things that could happen to someone, and I had the pleasure of both, in the same day. Through scripture I have learned that when one door closes God opens another one way better. Though today I sit here unemployed and broke, I still praise God for everything because if it wasn’t for Him, I wouldn’t have a testimony to how good He is. I do believe that He will provide, because he always has.

Thanks for reading!!! Be blessed!!!!

 

6 thoughts on “Root Canals and Unemployement.

  1. I’m sorry you lost your job and had a root canal all the same day. I’m so glad you are praising God and trusting him. He is good and I am sure that new door will be opening soon. Your have a blessed day 🙂

  2. I love your attitude. I’m so sorry you had to go through such a tough day! I love Zechariah 9:12. God promises to repay two blessings for each woe. You have an abundance of blessings coming your way after that day.

  3. This is a really touching and encouraging post. Thanks for sharing your story and i do believe that everything happens for a reason and everything works out for good to those who love Him. We may not understand what’s happening now but just have faith, everything will work out fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

