Proverbs 7.


Marriage

Marriage (Photo credit: Lel4nd)

  My son, keep my words and store up my commands within you. Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye. Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart. Say to wisdom, “You are my sister,” and to insight, “You are my relative.” They will keep you from the adulterous woman, from the wayward woman with her seductive words.

    At the window of my house I looked down through the lattice. I saw among the simple, I noticed among the young men, a youth who had no sense. He was going down the street near her corner, walking along in the direction of her house at twilight, as the day was fading, as the dark of night set in.

   Then out came a woman to meet him, dressed like a prostitute and with crafty intent. She is unruly and defiant, her feet never stay at home; now in the streets, now in the squares, at every corner she lurks. She took a hold of him and kissed him and with a brazen face she said:

    Today I fulfilled my vows, and I have fellowship offering at home. So I came out to meet you; I looked for you and have found you! I have covered my bed with colored linens from Egypt. I have perfumed my bed with myrrh, aloes and cinnamon. Come, let’s drink deeply of love till the morning; let’s enjoy ourselves with love! My husband is not at home; he has gone on a long journey. He took his purse filed with money and will not be home till full moon.

   With persuasive words she led him astray; she seduced him with her smooth talk. All at once he followed her like an ox going to slaughter, like a deer stepping into a noose till an arrow pierces his liver, like a bird darting into a snare, little knowing it will cost him his life.

   Now then, my sons, listen to me; pay attention to what I say. Do not let your heart turn to her paths. Many are the victims she has brought down; her slain are a mighty throng. Her house is a highway to the grave, leading down to the chambers of death.

The book of proverbs is filled with so much wisdom and discernment that even an atheist would come to his senses. Proverbs 7, which I really enjoy comes with a strong warning for both men and woman: Don’t even think about looking at, thinking about, touching, or anything else with a married person. Christ fulfills this prophesy when He said, “But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” Mathew 5:28

Today’s society is about as pathetic as a dog at the dinner table begging for food. With men and woman stepping out on the marriages because they “don’t feel it anymore” is just plain sad. And we wonder why our youth are not responding to parents, or are acting out and doing things they shouldn’t be doing, because they see their parents doing it! To many men have said they don’t love there wives anymore and woman are in the same boat, and just a note: people who are met at the bars or clubs are not life partners.

My hope and prayer is to get married and have kids someday if it’s ordained by God, and when it happens I will respect my wife and love my wife and lead my wife like I am called to do, through thick and thin.  Stepping out on the marriage, in my opinion, is cowardly and the easy way out, because your causing more pain than what you realize and it breaks Gods heart.

Please, don’t take the easy way out of your marriage, let God restore it and make it better than ever!

Thanks for reading!! Be Blessed!!!

One thought on “Proverbs 7.

  1. Hey, I appreciate the link to ProverbialThought.com. And by the way, I love what you do with your hair! 🙂

    We’re fixing to cover Proverbs 7 at Proverbial Thought. Being a chapter devoted to bad women, I’m a little curious how a bunch of men are going to address it. Should be interesting.

    God bless!

Leave a comment