If you don’t drink, you won’t get drunk.


An Alcoholics Anonymous Regional Service Cente...

Image via Wikipedia

You can almost imagine my facial expression when I heard this one. “If you don’t drink, you wont get drunk,” and their i sat pondering this novel idea as if it were some new aged idea that was just seen on Oprah. I felt a little overwhelmed at the whole idea of “not drinking” that all I could do was think about drinking. But this little quote has deep meaning and has impacted the life’s of many.

Not drinking  in my opinion is the easy part, it’s the blood, sweat, and tears after you put the plug in the jug that sends people back out. There’s what we call “sobriety” and then their is the “dry drunk.” Their is a difference. I would be inclined to say that if a man quits drinking without taking a deep look at himself and makes a conscious contact with God, he’s doomed to repeat the futility of life that he once new. Strong words, but true. Alcoholism consumes mans inner most thoughts, it destroys more life’s than anything else, and if your not careful it can reduce any dreams or goals you ever had in life.

Sobriety is when you make an effort to change as well as not drinking. Trust me, when us alcoholics quit drinking, there’s a whole lot of things that need to be changed. We cannot change these things on our own because were weak humans. We need the strength of an all loving God to help us through this process. Our weaknesses are His glory and His glory becomes my strength. The process of change is never easy, especially for us, because we want to do things our own way. We think we can do it all the while messing things up as we go. We need the encouragement of others and the care of God if we are to stay sober

Dry drunk‘s are the one’s that flat out quit drinking, but still no change has taken place in their life’s. It’s called “white knuckling” or obsessed thought process, however you want to say it. Their the ones that are not happy drinking or sober and adding alcohol is like adding kerosene to a fire. All they can think about is taking a drink, or drinking, but no they can’t so they become bitter and indigenous. These are the one’s that don’t think they have a problem and hence, don’t try to change or even think about going to get help. Dry drunks think they have everything figured out and in reality their life is in much despair.

The only hope I believe is God, period. he is the one that put’s our feet on the right path, and brings people into our life to help and encourage us. That’s how we get sober and that’s how we have life. Anything less is just existing. Sobriety is the hardest thing I have ever had to do, but it’s been the most fulfilling life events that I’ve ever experienced(accepting Christ has been the ultimate fulfillment though).  There has been times that i have wanted to give in and through down a few, but then i realize that life was only fantasy and pain. I’ve had my ups and downs, I’m human, I just remember were I came from and were I don’t want to go again. I remember my last drunk and it was painful. Painful enough to bring me to my knees and call out to a loving God for help.

Let me ask you my friend, are you in pain today? Has alcohol beat you bad enough that you can’t see straight? There is help, I promise you there is help. Millions of people have sobered up from this monster disease and you can to.

Take my hand, hold my hand, shed some tears with me and let me introduce you to “LIFE of the better kind.”

Thanks for reading!!! Be Blessed!!!!!

 

3 thoughts on “If you don’t drink, you won’t get drunk.

Leave a comment